Dungarvan in old picture postcards

Dungarvan in old picture postcards

:   William Fraher
:   Dungarvan
:   Waterford
:   Ierland
:   978-90-288-5788-9
:   80
:   EUR 16.95 Incl BTW *

Levertijd: 2 - 3 werkdagen (onder voorbehoud). Het getoonde omslag kan afwijken.


Fragmenten uit het boek 'Dungarvan in old picture postcards'

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  >  |  >>

59. The Dungarvan Ramblers cycling club, which was founded by Richard Edward Brenan in 1869. It was the first eycling club to be set up in Ireland. In 1869 the club ran the first eycle race in Ireland for a challenge cup. Brenan is the bearded man with glasses seated in the centre of the front row. The second man to his right is the photographer Edmund Keohan. The club appears to have ceased after Brenan's death in 1917.

60. This photograph was taken around 1910 by Richard Edward Brenan and depiets the Dungarvan Orchestral Band. Little is known about the band and it doesn't seem to have lasted very long. The man on the right with the cello is thought to be Jim Dunne, who was also involved in founding the Dungarvan Brass Band. The boy seated in the front left is Tommy Murphy and the bearded man in the centre is Edmund Keohan.

61. Dungarvan Brass Band photographed in 1909 after winning the Gisborne Cup in Waterford. Front row, left to right: Dan O'Connell, J. Connors, Pakie Croke, B. Dalton, Jack Duggan and Martin Quealy. Second row: Mr. Hardwick, Paddy Walsh, Larry Power, Mattie Walsh, Mr. Hargraves the bandrnaster, Jim Dunne, Jack Lyons, Jonny Whelan and Michael Flynn. Third row: Bob Knowies, Matt Scanlan, Jack Daniels, Tommy Greany, Larry Walsh, Gusty Cahill, Tom Croke, Bertie O'Connel1, Jimmy Clancy and Pat McGrath. Back row: Willie Cowman, unknown,Peter Dalton, Ned Phelan, Bob Rossiter, Luke Dalton and Mike Clancy.

62. Dungarvan Amateur Dramatic class photographed by Edmund Keohan in 1922. They are seen here in costume for a play called 'The West's Awake'. The club was in existence in 1900 and was probably founded in the 1890s.

63. Dungarvan Gas Works at Shandon in 1913. The Dungarvan Gas Consumers Company Ltd. was established in 1857 and the buildings were erected in 1859. The gentleman on the left is William Mulcahy and to his right is the manager, Denis Drohan. The introduetion of electricity to Dungarvan in 1920 signalled the eventual demise of the Gas Works.

64. A postcard by Edmund Keohan dated 18th May 1910. It shows Iocal officials and dignitaries proclaiming King George V outside the courthouse in T.F. Meagher Street. Keohan appears to have taken many photographs of special events such as these and issued them as postcards.

65. Carriglea House, an example of one of the 'big houses' near Dungarvan. The house was built by John O'Dell in 1827 and is thought to have been designed by Daniel Robertson from Kilkenny. The house was acquired by the Bon Sauveur nuns in 1902. There is a Tudor style chapel to the right ofthehouse, built by John Hearne & Co. ofWaterford in the 1920s.

66. The entrance hall at Carriglea House showing the fine cantilevered stairs with its brass balusters. Beneath the stairs is a gothic style cast-iron stove with the Odell crest, which was made by Bailey's of London.

67. A view of the drawing room at Carriglea House. The gothic style cornice and fireplace are part of the original decoration. The tapestry-covered furniture and lace curtains, both brought by the nuns from France, add an opulent air to the room.

68. This posteard depiets a monument to the famous greyhound, Master MeGrath. The photograph shows it in its original setting at Colligan Lodge, a few miles from Dungarvan. The hound was bred by J ames Galwey, the owner of the lodge. The greyhound won the Waterloo Cup in 1868 and subsequently in 1869 and 1871. This monument with its marbie relief earved by a Mr. Holland was ereeted in 1873, and was moved to its present loeation at the junetion of the Clonmel/Cappoquin road in 1933.

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  >  |  >>

Sitemap | Links | Colofon | Privacy | Disclaimer | Algemene voorwaarden | Algemene verkoopvoorwaarden | © 2009 - 2021 Uitgeverij Europese Bibliotheek