Hastings in old picture postcards

Hastings in old picture postcards

Auteur
:   Anne Scott
Gemeente
:  
Provincie
:   Sussex, East
Land
:   United Kingdom
ISBN13
:   978-90-288-5582-3
Pagina's
:   80
Prijs
:   EUR 16.95 Incl BTW *

Levertijd: 2 - 3 werkdagen (onder voorbehoud). Het getoonde omslag kan afwijken.

   


Fragmenten uit het boek 'Hastings in old picture postcards'

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  >  |  >>

29. A final view of the Old Town befare we move westwards, c1901. The East Hilllift is under construction and there are piles of building materiaion the beach for work on the groyne at Rock-a-Nore and the harbour. The tall chimney belongs to the refuse destructien plant. The maze of buildings to the left of the round fishmarket, which formed John Street, Winding Street and East Beach Street were all cleared in the 1930s.

30. Moving along the seafront to the end of George Street cl91O. The seafront was then considerably narrower than it is today. The brick building on the left is the Hastings Coastguard Station.

31. Sturdee Place, built in 1902 as the Hastings Coastguard Station and named after a well-known admiral. Coastguards can be seen outside with their families in about 1905. The block is still there, but modern shops disguise the ground floor and the front has been rendered.

32. St. Mary-in-the-Castle is an architectural gem at the heart of Pelham Crescent. Last used as a place of worship in 1978, then left to decay. Restoration work began in 1989. Fund-raising continues to complete the work and equip the building as a performance and visitor centre. A natural spring, an immersion font and catacombs are among the chuteh's unusual features.

33. Caroline Place c1908. The sea came close up here, as shown by the traces of storm damage on the edge of the promenade and the boats drawn wel! up on the seafront. Only the buildings on the extreme right of the picture in Castle Street still survive.

34. The fashions and pleasures of the seaside cl90S. From the left we have Denmark Place, Caroline Place, Breeds Place and Pelham Crescent. St. Mary-in-the-Castle is on the right of the picture with Pelham Crescent, these are the only surviving buildings on th is stretch of the seafront.

35. The West Hill, a traditional place for cricket practice c1913. The flagmarks the top ofthe liftwhich rises in a 500ft tunnel from George Street. This lift was opened in 1891.

36. July 5th 1911, the Coronation day of George V and Queen Mary. The West Hill has always been a popular site for celebrations. A huge bonfire has been erected where the children's playground is today. The Naval Volunteer Reserve is firing a salvo.

37. St. Clements Caves, popular with visitors since they were opened to the public in the 1820s. Many local people remember sheltering in them during the Second World War, when they were also used as the CounciI's record repository. Today much of the natural charm of the caves is hidden by the 'srnugglers adventure' now occupying them. The West Hill is said to be riddled with underground passageways.

38. The interior of Hastings CastIe has undergone various landscaping schemes since it became a tourist attraction in the 1820s. At the beginning of this century it was laid out as a garden and ivy was allowed to rambie over the masonry. The upkeep of the stonework in this exposed position has been a recurrent problem since Norman times.

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  >  |  >>

Sitemap | Links | Colofon | Privacy | Disclaimer | Leveringsvoorwaarden | © 2009 - 2020 Uitgeverij Europese Bibliotheek