Ingatestone and District in old picture postcards

Ingatestone and District in old picture postcards

Auteur
:   K.F. Langford
Gemeente
:  
Provincie
:   Essex
Land
:   United Kingdom
ISBN13
:   978-90-288-3017-2
Pagina's
:   80
Prijs
:   EUR 16.95 Incl BTW *

Levertijd: 2-3 weken (onder voorbehoud). Het getoonde omslag kan afwijken.

   


Fragmenten uit het boek 'Ingatestone and District in old picture postcards'

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  >  |  >>

59. Margaretting. Main raad, looking towards Chelmsford c. 1910.

60. Margaretting, Scene opposite The Bull Inn in 1900. Three generations of the Bartrop family were proprietars of a general store. All buildings and trees have gone, and in their p1ace a new house was built around 1910 (see No. 65).

61. Margaretting Church. It is the most interesting one in the area covered by this book; with three distinctive features - a wealth of mediaeval carpentry, a rare Jesse east window, and a unique, pre-Reformation set of four bells. The untidy hedge and summerhouse, which were part of the vicarage garden, have gone.

62. Margaretting vicarage. Standing immediate1y to the side of the church, it was for centuries occupied by the vicars of Margaretting (in 1958 the parish was united with Fryerning and the new vicarfrector lived at Fryerning Rectory). The charming greybricked house, in private hands, was added in 1822 to the original vicarage, still adjoined.

63. Margaretting post office in 1900. It remained a post office till c. 1912, when the office was transferred to various places, final1y closing c. 1970.

64. Margaretting. Red Lion. Five hundred years old and boasting 150 varieties of whisky, this inn has changed little over the centuries. Itonce belonged to the Disney family.

65. Margaretting. The general store was rebuilt around 1910 (see No. 60) and is now in private ownership.

66. Margaretting. Peacocks. A "charming stuccoed Regency house' in a beautiful setting. It is sa charming that one expects it to be peopled with Jane Austen characters. Now the home of Lord and Lady Chelmer.

67. Mountnessing, from Church Raad. The pond facing the Roman Road has been filled in and there is now a smail garden. The weil supplied five old cottages.

.. "':-- .. -::

..... _. "-' .. -

'" .--;.1--~.... -J-:

.-' r: - ?? ~.-"l. ~

??. ~ -, . ...=.

"PL~'UGH: ·MQUNTNESS'N'i._:..·'·'

68. Mountnessing, The Plough. Now replaced by a larger and less attractive building. The small cottage next to the inn has gone and the houses further left have been very much altered.

69. Mountnessing Church, standing two hundred feet above sea-level. Although approximately in the centre of the parish, it is two miles from the main Colchester Road, where the village now clusters. The church porch has been added since the photograph was taken.

-

70. Mountnessing 'Tin' Church. Because of the distance of his church from the centre of the village, the Reverend Richard Macnamara, vicar, in 1873 erected a small iron church (which held about two hundred people) close to the main road. The pews were taken out about 1970, but it is still in use sometimes as a church and sometimes for secular purposes. The photograph shows a well laid-out garden and rose trees.

71. Mountnessing. Windmill. Awaiting repairs 1938. A noted land mark on the Roman Raad. It is a typical post-mill of the early nineteenth century. Between 1817 and 1937 it was worked by fOUT successive generations of the Agnis family. They alllived in the Mill House shown on the left. A new house re-narned Mill Cottage was built a few yards further away in Thoby Lane. Thanks to the Friends of the Windmill, the mill is now completely restored and in working order.

72. Mountnessing, Thoby Priory. Founded in the twelfth century, it was named after the first prior, Tobias or Toby. Wolsey appropriated it in order to endow colleges. It was then demolished and rebuilt as a private house, incorporating some of the original fabric. There was a serious fire in 1893 and it was again rebuilt. In 1920 it was bought by the Earl of Arran, famous as a newspaper columnist. Some thirty, fourty years later it was inexcusably demolished. Two arches are all that remain of the original priory. The whole site is now covered by a vast scrap-metal yard!

73. Mountnessing, Roman Road. The Albert Cottages on the left have gone, as well as the small protruding roof of the blacksmith's. The Prince of Wales is on the right.

MOUNTNESSING.536.

74. Mountnessing School, boys and girls around 1920. The exterior is virtually unchanged today, except that the hands of the elock, and the roof turrets, have gone.

75. Mountnessing, war memorial. A great day in the life of the village - the service of dedication of the memorial to the fallen of the Great War, 1920. The vicar, the Reverend Henry Cobbing, conducts the service. Ta his left in the choir are Lionel Goodday and Chris Read. The seated figure on the right is Walt er Agnis, mill-owner, who lost two sans in the war. They are the first two nam es on the memorial.

76. Mountnessing, farm workers at the completion of the harvest. Taken at Arnolds Farm at the turn of the century. The men worked three farms Beagrarns, Jordans and Arnolds. Note the gaiters and variety of headgear worn.

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  >  |  >>

Sitemap | Links | Colofon | Privacy | Disclaimer | Leveringsvoorwaarden | © 2009 - 2019 Uitgeverij Europese Bibliotheek