Lytham-St. Annes in old picture postcards

Lytham-St. Annes in old picture postcards

Auteur
:   Kathleen Eyre
Gemeente
:  
Provincie
:   Lancashire
Land
:   United Kingdom
ISBN13
:   978-90-288-2185-9
Pagina's
:   120
Prijs
:   EUR 16.95 Incl BTW *

Levertijd: 2-3 weken (onder voorbehoud). Het getoonde omslag kan afwijken.

   


Fragmenten uit het boek 'Lytham-St. Annes in old picture postcards'

<<  |  <  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  >  |  >>

49. ANSDELL, WOODLANDS ROAD looking East towards the junction with Blackpool Road and Woodlands Farm, befere the building of St. Joseph's R.e. Church (middle distance) and Ansdell Institute (site, left of railings in the foreground), circa 1904.

50. ANSDELL, COMMONSIDE COTTAGES pictured in the 1890's, late survivors from the 17th century, with roofs of wheatstraw thatch, cruck timbers, walls of clay and sea-stones proudly whitewashed. The cobble-stone walling was popular with the old natives who even applied the whitewash brush to their front garden walls.

51. ANSDELL, COMMONSIDE, another picturesque property (still to be seen) with charming dormers and a roof dignified with slates. The dripstones above the door and windows was a typical Fylde feature still to be seen in a few surviving cottages and farmhouses. This postcard goes back to before 1906.

52. ANSDELL, FISHERMEN'S THATCHED COTTAGES IN COMMONSIDE circa 1900. These were of the traditional 'cruck' method of construction widely used in the Fylde fr om Anglo-Saxon times and when they were demolished in the middle of this century they were 300/400 years old. The ivy covered farmhouse (facing) was built for the Rossall family circa 1860. They arrived from Carleton with a two-year old son and all their possessions packed on to a flat cart to take possession of an ancient whitewashed farmhouse and found it to be decayed and the thatch infested with rats. Young Mrs. Rossall marched off in a dudgeon to the Clifton Agent, insisted on a new house being built and for the intervening six months took her family into lodgings near the oid Srnithy at Heyhouses,

5 3. FAIRHAVEN GOLF CLUB was founded in 1895. The l8-hole course, part leased from Squire Clifton and the rest from the newly-formed Fairhaven Estate Company, covered areas on both sides of Clifton Drive near the present Queen Mary School until 1921 when the present site was leased in a pleasantly secluded portion of Lytham Hall Park. The original club-house is now Fairhaven Lake Café. It was submerged to the eaves during an inundation of the sea which flattened the protective hulkings, Lockers, golfing paraphernalia and domestic equipment were swept away in the flood and a notice warning trespassers off the links was level with the water. After that, several holes along the shore were relinquished and two adjoining houses in St. Paul's Avenue were acquired as new headquarters. Photograph taken before 1920. The grounds of King Edward VII School (1908) tie on the opposite side of Clifton Drive.

54. FAIRHAVEN. Striking off, in the early days, at Fairhaven Golf Links on the sea-side of Clifton Drive, looking in the direction of St. Annes, St. Thomas's Church-tower can he seen (left). Location of the tee roughly near Denford Avenue. The substantial property along Clifton Drive with the tram passing stands near the corner of Osborne Road. The impressive property (immediately left) on the opposite corner was Seabright House, a holiday and convalescent home for children from inland.

55. FAIRHAVEN, A QUIET DAY ON THE LAKE before 1904. This pleasant area with handsome properties bordering the sea-front developed out of a rabbit warren when the Fairhaven Estate Company was founded in 1895. The marine lake was formed by enclosing a natural harbour between two stanners, or pebble ridges, cast up over the years by successive tides. The Café building (left of centre) served for a few years as the Fairhaven Golf Club House. The bowling greens had not yet been !aid out adjoining the Boathouse (right).

56. FAIRHAVEN, THE BUNGALOW in the 1890's was prominently sited on a high sand-dune on the southern corner of Cartmell Road and South Promenade. It was substantially constructed of yellow brick with verandah, oriel window, picturesque dormers and window shutters, It was built in the first instanee for H.T. Crofton, Esq., Solicitor/Historian and purchased in the early part of this century by the first Lord Ashton, the Lancaster golfing enthusiast and linoleum manufacturer who fell in love with St. Annes, partially on account of the splendid golfmg facilities and healthy situation, and who became one of the principal benefactors to the new resort. Lord Ashton enclosed within iron railings a wild area of the sand-dunes extending as far as Denford Avenue, planting there srnall pine trees and talier willows which the author of ten climbed in childhood. This paradise for children is now covered by Lancaster Avenue and properties bordering Newbury Road.

57. FAIRHAVEN, THE BUNGALOW, built for H.T. Crofton, Solicitor/Historian, later acquired by Lord Ashton. It stood on a high sand-dune at the corner of Cartmell Road and the Promenade, a landmark which was as outstanding as the wooden lighthouse seen in the background (immediate right) which operated from January 1865 until 1890 when it was replaced by a gas-lighted buoy in the Channel. The lighthouse survived until about 1900 when it was demolished for firewood, The pond or 'slack' adjoining The Bungalow (now the site of Lancaster Avenue properties) was a magnet for children. In the late 1920's the willows on the island had grown tall and the clump of resin-oozing pines (left) were at an easy height for children to climb. The whole area was paradise of abundant wild life, with fascinating flora and fauna, larks shrilling overhead, frogs croaking and lizards and newts scuttling in the undergrowth.

58. THE TRAWL BOAT INN, HEYHOUSES, now converted into two houses, wasrebuilt to present proportions circa 1860. lts predecessor, a low whitewashed wayside alehouse, had been Iicensed as early as 1822 when a Manchester visitor, writing to 'The Babbler', commented that 'one may even trip to the Hay Houses and get bad ale'. Thomas Greaves took over in 1826 and the Trawl Boat gradually earned a reputation for lively goings-on! Roystering, practical jokes, fisticuffs and trials of strength became regular occurrences. After her husband's death, Mrs. Mary Houseman, the large lady with a white apron seen here, became the last Iicensee. The Trawl Boat's days were numbered. After Lady Eleanor Cecily Clifton's son died in 1880, his young widow remarried and became Lady Drummond. lt was she, the locals said, who petitioned for the withdrawal of the Iicence after she had witnessed a brawl in full swing outside the Trawl Boat at mid-day when all conscientious breadwinners should have been hard at work, to the anguish of the male patrons and the heartfelt relief of their womenfolk.

<<  |  <  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  >  |  >>

Sitemap | Links | Colofon | Privacy | Disclaimer | Algemene voorwaarden | Algemene verkoopvoorwaarden | © 2009 - 2021 Uitgeverij Europese Bibliotheek