Teesside and Old Cleveland / once more

Teesside and Old Cleveland / once more

Auteur
:   Robin Cook
Gemeente
:  
Provincie
:   Cleveland
Land
:   United Kingdom
ISBN13
:   978-90-288-5215-0
Pagina's
:   144
Prijs
:   EUR 16.95 Incl BTW *

Levertijd: 2 - 3 werkdagen (onder voorbehoud). Het getoonde omslag kan afwijken.

   


Fragmenten uit het boek 'Teesside and Old Cleveland / once more'

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  >  |  >>

19. A charming view of the Children's Ward at North Ormesby Hospital, with a dolls house in the centre, just in front of a large stove. The table carries a variety of plants, including an aspidistra. Taken about 1910. The hospital served the district from 1861 to its closure in 1981, after which it was soon demolished.

Vehicle Drawn 10 One Side of Road 10 Show Reach of Trolley Arms, viz., 14 ft. from Centr-e Of V"i ?? ' .

20. Vehicles belonging to the Teesside Railless Traction Company, which began its operations in November 1919 with ten such omnibuses, which were 28-seaters. This view was taken on the Trunk Road in 1922, at the site of a more recent roundabout, with a familiar bridge in the background. The bridge was built in 1915 to carry the trolley bus route over the Eston branch of the North Eastern Railway.

21. Another view of the trolleybus system, taken at the Normanby Terminal Loop, with an ancient caravan to the left. The route covered just over 5 miles, between North Ormesby, South Bank, Grangetown and Normanby. Taken in 1921.

22. A typical industrial view, on this occasion the Normanby Iron Works at South Bank. The North Eastern Railway waggons are marked as carrying a load of 10 tons of ironstone, and some of them can be seen discharging at a high level against the plant to the left of centre. Taken about 1910.

23. An impressive machine - the caption reads: 'Middlesbrough - Largest Shears in the World. ' The scale of this device can be seen in comparison with the three Iron Works employees. Taken about 1908.

24. Two early lorries belonging to Sadlers' Cleveland Chemical Works in Cargo Fleet Road, Middlesbrough, about 1912. They have solid tyres, and are carrying strawprotected carboys of acid or some other liquid chemical. The one on the left is a Thorneyeroft waggon.

25. Taken during the construction of the Newport Bridge, this photograph shows how the task was progressed. The Middlesbrough bank of the river lies on the right, and the date is February 1933.

26. A charming view of the farmer Captain Cook Memorial School at Marton, built in 1850. The children pose for the camera, about 1910. The building still stands, at the corner ofThe Grove and Stokesley Road, although it finally closed as a school in 1963.

27. Almost opposite the old school building stands the famous Parish Church at Marton, dedicated to St. Cuthbert. The baptism of James Cook is recorded in the registers here on 3 November 1728. He was bom on 27 October 1728. This Brittain and Wright postcard, taken about 1905, shows three young girls in their white pinafore dresses standing by the lychgate, and the photographer's bicycle leaning against the churchyard wall.

28. A splendid postcard view of the new Stainton Hotel, built in 1897. A carriage pulls up at the front door of this village pub just south of Middlesbrough, ab out 1905. Same of the village cricket team are believed to be in the picture.

<<  |  <  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  >  |  >>

Sitemap | Links | Colofon | Privacy | Disclaimer | Algemene voorwaarden | Algemene verkoopvoorwaarden | © 2009 - 2021 Uitgeverij Europese Bibliotheek